About

Based in Brussels since 2007, Gaël Santisteva was born in 1977 in Auch (France). Throughout his youth he had an intensive circus practice until he became a student at the National Center for Circus Arts in Chalons en Champagne, from which he graduated with the Russian swing specialty in 2001. Always very passionate about movement and theater, he naturally turned out of school to companies oriented towards choreography and theatrical performance.

He has been working as a performer for various dance, dance-theater or musical theater companies for 15 years. Circus has not left his mind or his body, it is even what very strongly constitutes the uniqueness of his personality on a set. After many years of reflection and contact with different creators, he started a personal search in order to produce pieces marked with his own identity. He continues on the other hand artistic collaborations as an interpreter in projects that engage a questioning and a renewal of his artistic vocabulary.

As a performer, Gaël has been working as a performer with Philippe Decouflé, Jean-Marc Heim, les Ballets C de la B -Koen Augustijnen, Cie Zimmermann/De Perrot, Eleanor Bauer. He co-created with Lara Barsacq two performances presented at Tanzhaus Zurich: Tonight, I love you ! (2012) and The Hide Show (2014). In 2016, Gaël Santisteva co-founded asbl Gilbert & Stock with Lara Barsacq.

In 2017, he created TALK SHOW before touring in France and Belgium in 2018/19/20. Parallel to that, he collaborates on other projects as a performer, artistic advisor or assistant for: Walking the Line by Benjamin Vandewalle, Noir M1 and Les Flyings by Mélissa Von Vépy, New Joy and Meyoucycle by Eleanor Bauer, Lost in Ballets russes and IDA don’t cry me love by Lara Barsacq.

Gaël’s next project - Garcimore est mort - will premiere on November 18th, 2021 at Le Manège de Reims - scène nationale. He will also direct the collective performance by the 3rd Grade students of ESAC (Brussels). Première in January 2022 (dates tba).

Gilbert & Stock asbl is the administrative structure for the realization of Lara Barsacq and Gaël Santisteva's artistic projects. Their artistic complicity pushed them in 2016 to set up a common structure while keeping an identity specific to each. Dialogue and exchange of ideas about protean artistic essays allow them to develop distinct and independent personal projects. Gilbert & Stock asbl has the primary vocation of a "think tank" (laboratory of ideas), to transform itself into a structure of production and distribution when a project takes shape more precisely and is in the need of to exist. It is in parallel syntony that Lara and Gaël trace their respective creative paths.

A propos

Gaël Santisteva vit et travaille à Bruxelles depuis 2007. Il est né en 1977 à Auch dans le Gers (France). Pendant toute sa jeunesse, il a eu une pratique de cirque intensive jusqu’à devenir étudiant au Centre National des Arts du Cirque de Chalons en Champagne dont il est sorti diplômé avec comme spécialité la balançoire russe en 2001. Depuis toujours très passionné par l’art du mouvement et le théâtre, il s’est naturellement tourné à la sortie de l’école vers des compagnies orientées vers la chorégraphie et la performance théâtrale.

Cela fait maintenant 15 ans qu’il travaille en tant que performeur dans diverses compagnies de danse, de danse-théâtre ou de théâtre musical. Le Cirque n’a pas pour autant quitté son esprit ni son corps, c’est même ce qui constitue très fortement le caractère unique de sa personnalité sur un plateau de théâtre. Après beaucoup d’année de réflexions et de contacts avec différents créateurs, il entame une recherche plus personnelle afin de produire des pièces marquées de son identité propre. Il continue d’autre part les collaborations artistiques en tant qu’interprète dans des projets qui engage un questionnement et un renouvellement de son vocabulaire artistique.

Il a travaillé en tant que performeur avec entre autre Philippe Decouflé, Jean-Marc Heim, les Ballets C de la B -Koen Augustijnen, Cie Zimmermann/De Perrot, Eleanor Bauer. Il a créé en binôme avec Lara Barsacq deux performances présentées à la Tanzhaus de Zurich : Tonight, I love you ! (2012) et The Hide Show (2014). En 2016, Gaël Santisteva co-crée l’asbl Gilbert & Stock avec Lara Barsacq.

En 2017, il crée la pièce TALK SHOW et entame une tournée en France et en Belgique sur les saisons 2018/19/20. En parallèle, il travaille sur d’autres projets, en tant que performeur, conseiller artistique ou assistant à la mise en scène pour : Walking the Line du chorégraphe Benjamin Vandewalle, Noir M1 et Les Flyings de Mélissa Von Vépy, New Joy et Meyoucycle d’Eleanor Bauer, Lost in Ballets russes et IDA don’t cry me love de Lara Barsacq.

Le prochain projet de Gaël - Garcimore est mort - sera créé le 18 novembre 2021 au Manège de Reims - scène nationale. Il va également mettre en scène le spectacle collectif des étudiants de 3ème année de l'ESAC (Bruxelles). Première en janvier 2022 (dates à préciser).

L’asbl Gilbert & Stock est la structure administrative qui encadre la réalisation des projets artistiques de Lara Barsacq et Gaël Santisteva. Leur complicité artistique les pousse en 2016 à monter une structure commune tout en gardant une identité propre à chacun. Le dialogue et les échanges d’idées au sujet d’essais artistiques protéiformes leur permettent de développer des projets personnels distincts et indépendants. L’asbl Gilbert & Stock a la vocation première d’un « think tank » (laboratoire d’idée), pour se transformer en structure de production et de diffusion lorsqu’un projet se dessine plus précisément et se trouve dans la nécessité d’exister. C’est en syntonie parallèle que Lara et Gaël tracent leurs chemins créatifs respectifs.