About

Lara Barsacq is a choreographer, dancer and actress. She likes to mix the tracks between archives, fictions, incarnation and documentary. Starting from the story, the autobiographical rituals and the material of the real, she tries to imagine dances, metaphors and to switch into the incarnation.

Trained at the CNSM in Paris in contemporary dance, she joined the Batsheva Company with choreographer Ohad Naharin, between 1992 and 1996. From 1994 to 2004, she devotes herself to choreography, whether for her own projects or at the request of the CNSM in Paris and professional companies like Ensemble Batsheva. She became an interpreter of Jean-Marc Heim Compagnie, ALias, Jérôme Bel, Lies Pauwels and Ben Benaouisse, Tristero, Ballets C de la B, GdRA, Benny Claessens, Arkadi Zaides, Zerep's Coy, Danae Theodoridou and Lisi Estaras. Since 2004, she is both an actress and a dancer, working from improvisation and texts by authors. She has been performing in French since 2015 in Sarah Vanhee's Lecture for Everyone and is in Benny Claessens' Learning how to walk, presented at KVS. She develops her choreographic work in collaboration with Gael Santisteva.

After 15 years as an interpreter, Lara Barsacq returned to choreography with a personal project - Lost in Ballets russes (2018) - that premiered in Brussels (La Raffinerie) in the frame of Festival LEGS - Charleroi Danse. In 2019, she created IDA don’t cry me love, a trio built around the figure of Ida Rubinstein. The premiere took place at La Raffinerie (Brussels) in the frame of Biennale de Charleroi Danse. These two pieces form a diptych.

Lara’s latest project - Fruit Tree - premiered on October 15th and 16th, 2021 during the Biennale de Charleroi Danse (Brussels).

Lara Barsacq is Associated-Choreographer at Charleroi danse, that is committed to producing, presenting and supporting her works from 2020 until the end of 2022.

Gilbert & Stock asbl is the administrative structure for the realization of Lara Barsacq and Gaël Santisteva's artistic projects. Their artistic complicity pushed them in 2016 to set up a common structure while keeping an identity specific to each. Dialogue and exchange of ideas about protean artistic essays allow them to develop distinct and independent personal projects. Gilbert & Stock asbl has the primary vocation of a "think tank" (laboratory of ideas), to transform itself into a structure of production and distribution when a project takes shape more precisely and is in the need of to exist. It is in parallel syntony that Lara and Gaël trace their respective creative paths.

A propos

Lara Barsacq est chorégraphe, danseuse et comédienne. Elle aime mêler les pistes entre archives, fictions, incarnation et documentaire. En partant de l’histoire, des rituels autobiographique et de la matière du réel, elle tente d’imaginer des danses, des métaphores et de basculer dans l’incarnation.

Formée au CNSMDP en danse contemporaine, elle intègre entre 1992 et 1996 la Compagnie Batsheva, chorégraphe Ohad Naharin, se forme aux tournées internationales et de proximité. De 1994 à 2004, elle se consacre à la chorégraphie que ce soit pour ses projets ou à la demande du CNSMDP, de compagnies professionnelles comme l’Ensemble Batsheva. Elle devient interprète des Compagnies Jean-Marc Heim, ALias, Jérôme Bel, Lies Pauwels & Ben Benaouisse, Tristero, Les Ballets C de la B, le GdRA, Benny Claessens, Arkadi Zaides, la cie du Zerep, Danae Theodoridou et Lisi Estaras. Depuis 2004, elle est autant comédienne que danseuse, travaillant à partir d’improvisations et de textes d’auteurs. Elle performe en français depuis 2015 Lecture for everyone de Sarah Vanhee et est dans la dernière création de Benny Claessens Learning how to walk, présenté au KVS. Elle développe son travail chorégraphique en collaboration avec Gael Santisteva.

Après 15 ans en tant qu’interprète, Lara Barsacq renoue avec la chorégraphie en se concentrant sur un projet personnel, le solo Lost in Ballets russes (2018), créé à Bruxelles (La Raffinerie), dans le cadre du Festival LEGS - Charleroi danse. En 2019, Lara a créé le trio IDA don’t cry me love dans le cadre de la Biennale de Charleroi danse (La Raffinerie, Bruxelles). Ces deux premières pièces forment un diptyque.

Le troisième projet de Lara - Fruit Tree - a été créé les 15 et 16 octobre 2021 à Bruxelles, dans le cadre de la Biennale de Charleroi Danse.

Lara Barsacq est chorégraphe-associée à Charleroi danse, qui s’engage à produire, présenter et accompagner ses œuvres de 2020 à fin 2022.

L’asbl Gilbert & Stock est la structure administrative qui encadre la réalisation des projets artistiques de Lara Barsacq et Gaël Santisteva. Leur complicité artistique les pousse en 2016 à monter une structure commune tout en gardant une identité propre à chacun. Le dialogue et les échanges d’idées au sujet d’essais artistiques protéiformes leur permettent de développer des projets personnels distincts et indépendants. L’asbl Gilbert & Stock a la vocation première d’un « think tank » (laboratoire d’idée), pour se transformer en structure de production et de diffusion lorsqu’un projet se dessine plus précisément et se trouve dans la nécessité d’exister. C’est en syntonie parallèle que Lara et Gaël tracent leurs chemins créatifs respectifs.